Skip to content

My Hat? It’s Off.

December 22, 2009

To Stay at Home Parents. I don’t really know how y’all do this crap without going absolutely insane. Piper woke up at 6:30 and has been a fuss pot for most of the morning (Happy Birthday? Yeah, whatever Mom.)

Yes. I keep the wine next to the formula. What?


We did presents over about an hour or so, whenever she seemed interested. It was hard to tear her away from her Big Birthday Breakfast Cookie though.

Chris left at 9:30 for a Drs appointment which means that THERE WERE TWO OF US HERE for the first three hours of the morning. She went down for a nap at 10:30.

People. This means that I was solely responsible for taking care of my kid for a grand total of 1 hour today.

I managed to spill my coffee, let the kid get into the coffee soaked paper towels, pull the unused paper towels off of the cardboard roll (I was getting new coffee, see), which I then “donated” to the dog’s chew toy supply. I did make a small effort to move all of the wrapping paper and empty boxes (to the other side of the baby gate) and hang up the kid’s new clothes. On the ceiling fan.

And yes, I watched yesterday’s DooL on the DVR instead of cleaning.

Because the top of the stove is a great place to store used wrapping paper.

That little learning table thing was under, yes under the rug for about 20 minutes. I think she was trying to hide her stuff under it.

There’s (new) coffee all over my shirt and I cant find my cell phone (ooh. I should probably check under the rug, yes?). It’s 11:31 am.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. emily bilbrey permalink
    December 22, 2009 3:36 pm

    hahaha! oh dear! i know how you feel lady – for the first six months after poppy was born, my husband was laid off from work and i had a job outside the home three mornings a week. then d went back to work and shortly after i got laid off, making me (very suddenly) a sahm with a husband gone working/commuting for over 55 hours per week. for the first two weeks i would seriously look at poppy like, “kid, i love you to the ends of the earth, but what the HELL am i supposed to do with you all day?!” (; i was joking with d yesterday about how when he wasn’t working, i wore makeup almost every day. now i feel super accomplished if poppy gets a bath, three meals, and a respectable bedtime! it’s the name of the game, i suppose…

    oh, and how does piper like that learning table? my mom got it for poppy as her christmas present! my little biscuit has ZERO interest in crawling, but stands like a champ and even seems close to being ready to cruise…

    good luck today! hang in there, mama!

  2. kerri permalink
    December 27, 2009 9:11 am

    most days i usually do go insane at some point….but it is almost a normal occurrence so it doesn’t even phase me anymore. ha ha…hopefully you actually got to drink some coffee…it is always tragic when it spills.

  3. Mandy permalink
    December 30, 2009 10:41 pm

    i’m crazy and you know this.
    and fucking lolz at arianna on the tv. god how i love you.

  4. Mandy permalink
    December 31, 2009 2:21 am

    also, we have the same stoves.
    biff!
    (best internet friends forever) obv.

    • December 31, 2009 5:15 pm

      If you ever break the glass top of yours and need to replace it let Me know. Topher knows where to order a new one from and soon will be able to give step by step intallation instructions.

Leave a Reply

