Skip to content

busted baby head. messy house. Pics!

January 15, 2010

It’s been a banner week for this working mom!

The house is a ridiculous mess, the kind that makes you just want to burn the place down instead of attempting to clean it. My usual practice of planning meals two weeks ahead has gone down the tubes. Partly because you know that whole cook from a recipe book every night thing I was working on? What a shit idea. Seriously. Why didn’t one of you stop me? What good are you people anyway?

There’s mail everywhere, most of it probably from organizations to which we owe money. I’m guessing the excuse of “oh gosh, sorry mortgage/water/electric/credit card/car loan company! your bill must have been under that big bag of crap we’ve been meaning to return to Babies R Us for about a month” isn’t going to buy me any grace periods. Especially if they see how often I have time to Tweet and catch up on DVR’d Days Of Our Lives (PS, Carly Manning you’re a douche).

So things were barely treading water and I wasn’t feeling super great about my ability to balance the work/mom/baby things this week already and then…

THE BEST THING happened Thursday (please read the dripping sarcasm, I don’t want you to be shocked in case you didn’t read the title of the post)! I’m on a conference call with a client and I get a call on my cell phone that Piper fell at “school” and got hurt. And by hurt I mean massive bump, ugly bruise and much-scarier-sounding-over-the-phone-than-when-seen-in-person cut on her tiny perfect forehead.

But, you can see how happy she was that night at dinner, even with a busted up head (which I do realize you can barely see in this, trust me it was worse looking the next day)!

Of course I went and picked her up and took her to the pediatrician to get checked out, cause you know, head injury and whatnot. And she’s fine. But ughhhh that phone call!

The worst part about being a working mom is not my kid getting hurt. Of course, kids just get hurt sometimes, especially toddlers with their awesome coordination and strong sense of self preservation. And of course we have plenty of doors right here in the house which she is perfectly capable of walking into under our close parental supervision. So no, it’s not that I think she’d never get hurt if I was a stay at home mom. The worst part about being a working mom is that my kid WILL get hurt and I won’t be there to comfort her and make it better. Someday, when she’s a little bigger and she walks into another door or gets fallen on by another toddler who is crying and therefore leading with their teeth (that was a different day and a much less scary phone call as the words “you might want to see if her Doctor thinks she needs stitches” were NOT included) she’s not just going to cry and she’s not just going to be sad.

She’s going ask for me. She’s going to cry/sob/dry heave/gag and otherwise freak out while hysterically wailing out the word “Mama”.

She’s going to get hurt and she’s going to want me and I’m probably not going to know for at least a few minutes (Wait. Do I want to see it on the webcam? So I can get the best of both worlds; seeing it happen AND getting the awful call while I’m already in the speeding car? Yeah, I’m saying no.) that it even happened.

That’s the worst part. Missing the good, the bad, and the ugly screaming crying.

But like I said, she’s fine. AND we finally got around to installing the software for my new little point and shoot camera that I got for Christmas. I will leave you with some pics of my kid’s perfectly perfect perfectness, forehead included, from before the new year.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2010 11:57 pm

    Awww she’s darn cute! That sucks about missing it 😦

    I have the same mail problem as you do…but mine are under the previous owners mail and a giant pile of puppy puke. Awesome. (I cleaned the puke up, but it’s residual).

  2. Tanya permalink
    January 16, 2010 4:28 pm

    Carly Manning is back on Days? Yep, that’s my comment. Well, that, and I’m glad Piper is okay.

    • January 16, 2010 5:02 pm

      She is! Ugh! And sleeping with bo. It’s all gross. Why are her boobs so big? I don’t get it.

      • Tanya permalink
        January 18, 2010 9:40 am

        I had to go look her up after reading your post, and if I didn’t know it was the same actress from decades ago, I wouldn’t have recognized her. I might have to watch Days today, since it’s a holiday. Then I can get back to you with an opinion on her boobs.

Trackbacks

  1. The knee jerk « Parenting In Progress

Leave a Reply

