Skip to content

Stuff I made, whatever-day-this-is

February 1, 2010

And technically I made it yesterday but whatever.

First, an example of what I’ll be using to smash my blackberry into smithereens if it doesn’t get its act together RIGHT FREAKING QUICK

A lovely gift from a lovely friend.

Technically I think it might actually be an antique, or could at least be qualified as “vintage” however I am not sure how old it is. I know I’m not supposed to use it to smash electronics.  I don’t think I’m supposed to use it at all, but I’m one of those people who likes to use stuff for what it was made for, I feel it shows a bit more respect for the tool.  If it breaks, we try to fix it and when we can’t fix it anymore we try to repurpose it or recycle it when possible. So when I do use it, I use it to make things like this to try to make it happy:

Cherry Scones = Super Yum

In addition, I made an egg casserole this Sunday, based on a recipe I got from my Mother In Law. But considering all of the focus we’ve got going on around here I tweaked it a little. It still came out gorgeous and tasting even better than the original (I think. Topher says he agrees. He does live here so that’s a good idea.)

So as a recap of our whole eating local effort, the whole wheat sourdough bread, fresh eggs, and asparagus were all bought at the farmer’s market with the eggs and bread being locally produced, although the asparagus was from Peru. Sooo…maybe a partial fail? All other ingredients were organic.

Nothing in the scones was local. BUT. The dried cherries I used were from King Orchards in Central Lake, Michigan (AKA awesomsauce, and yes I stole that. I’m not ashamed.) and were not shipped here, they were flown here in my Dad’s carry on luggage last time he came home from vacation up at the lake house.

In addition to all of that, Piper made some tea:

It was delicious.

Now, lest you think that all we do around here is hunt for local food, cook it and then take pictures of it. We’ve been up to all sorts of other stuff lately.We’ve been going to the park a bit more often. Piper likes the fountain, the ducks, climbing on her stroller and trying to follow strangers home. It’s neato.

You look like you have snack! Let's be friends!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2010 11:10 pm

    Mmmm.. that looks super yummy! And hey, cut yourself some slack. It’s WAY hard to buy all local, especially when you’re not, like, a farmer. And, yeah, Piper is super adorable 🙂

  2. February 2, 2010 1:08 am

    i love her! and hate you because you’re wearing a tanktop.
    that egg casserole looks disgusting. please send me the recipe at once.

    • February 2, 2010 8:16 am

      Mandy, this is funny, because I already sent it to you. Swap out the white bread in the recipe for whole wheat (I used whole wheat sourdough, drool if you need to, it’s awesome) and you’re in business. Also it’s really easy and yummy to make with spinach in place of the asparagus if you’re into that sort of thing.

      • February 2, 2010 3:26 pm

        i’m an asshole.
        ::runs to gmail::

  3. emily bilbrey permalink
    February 2, 2010 2:23 am

    i want to nom all over that egg casserole. and your kid, not in the creepy way(?)

    that lil’ piper is PRECIOUS!!!

    love it.

    x.

  4. Christopher permalink
    February 2, 2010 2:38 pm

    I love my wife, and my daughter, and the scones, and the eggpuff, and of course, the tea.

  5. February 2, 2010 3:26 pm

    ::dies of preciousness::

  6. Liz permalink
    February 3, 2010 7:34 pm

    I puffy heart love your cherry scones…. And now I want some. Wanna make a trip over here to deliver?

    Also, digging the new Piper pics. She’s so fun.

  7. February 3, 2010 9:42 pm

    the park! a tank top! don’t mind me…just jealous. really i don’t think she could be any cuter.

Leave a Reply

