Skip to content

And then someone said she liked my blog, and LOOK! She gave me a sticker!!

February 9, 2010

Yeah, That’s pretty much what I sounded like last night talking to Topher, attempting to describe the Beautiful Blogger award that I received yesterday right before he patted my head and handed me a lollipop.

My inappropriate enthusiasm level notwithstanding, a big Thank You to Brandee over at Bigger By The Belly for the lovely award, I appreciate it!

There are “rules” that come with the award, some of which I will abide by, and some of which I will… twist a bit.

1. thank the person who nominated me for this award DONE
2. copy the award & place it on my blog DONE
3. link to the person who nominated me for this award DONE
4. share 7 interesting things about myself YEESH. This requires that there be 7 interesting things about me that are appropriate for interweb sharing. Ok…sure.
5. nominate 7 other beautiful bloggers OK! Well, sort of. See below.

Ok, seven interesting things about me… let’s see…

1. I won my school spelling bee in 6th grade. This was a big deal because my school was K-12. I lost at County in the semi-finals on the word Omission which was my first experience crying on stage BUT(!) I met a boy there (who did win, I’ve always liked ’em smart) named Josh and he was an 8th grader and he lived in Ellsworth and he played a Boys To Men song that he had taped off of the radio on his boombox for me over the phone one night and then never called me again. Jackass.

2. Shortly following Josh avoidance-dumping me, we moved to Florida and then to still other parts of Florida while my parents’ marriage was ending. I grew up in a town where school was K-12 with two parents and then moved to Gainesville which has a population of about 80K, still with two parents and then about a year later to Tampa living with just my Mom. Basically I wasn’t able to stay still long enough to make friends for kind of a while.

3. During this time of serial moving and friendlessness, I watched a lot of Star Trek because it was on every afternoon when I got home and I could imagine that THEY Were my friends. And I have a thing for Picard. I still really like Star Trek. I’ve never been to a convention or anything but I am a pretty big fan. At one time I talked a big game about kicking some ass at Star Trek Scene It but that was a mistake for two reasons
a.) We played people who don’t exactly cheat, but instead ask to borrow your DVD collection three days prior to the scheduled tournament under the cover of “recovering from back surgery” or similar bull shit. These people happen to be Piper’s GodParents so I am letting it slide JUST THIS ONE TIME.
b.) It was WAY heavy loaded with DS9 and Enterprise which is super lame because those are the lame ones. Truly, my strength lies within Next Gen and if there is a Next Gen only version of Scene It bring it over and bear in mind that I PLAY FOR BENJAMINS, PEOPLE.

No really. I own all 7 seasons of Next Gen on DVD. Bring your wallets.

4. Once I did make friends I made some lifelong ones in 9th grade. Their names are Casey, Liz and Tessa and back when I was using MySpace I listed them in the “Heroes” section and I still consider them such. In her own way each is living a really authentic and not necessarily easy life, blazing her own path and trying to carve out a deliberate future for herself. I admire them so much, and not just because they laugh instead of beat me up when I talk about their underwear on the internet.

5. It’s possible that I am easily influenced. It seems to take a certain personality type, but there is a very small number of people in this world who could quite literally get me to try anything in exchange for the mere promise that they will do it with me and that I will have fun. One of these people is Tessa who gets me to go places like Barcelona and Manhattan and Epcot with (upon reflection) very little advance planning or discussion. She says it’s fun and I go. And she’s always right.

6. Another one of these people is Mandy and there’s not a lot to say about her that I haven’t already said except that she’s going to BlogHer ’10 and because I am easily influenced… so am I. And I can’t believe I just wrote that down and stuff. Woah. (It’s um, kind of a big deal). Mandy had better deliver on this whole fun thing. Lucky for her, thanks to Tessa I have already been to the hotel where BlogHer ’10 is being held (twice) so I am pretty confident we’re in for a good time. I wonder if the falafel guy is still there on Friday nights or if my damn scarf ever turned up in lost and found! Either one of those would be AWESOME.

7. I am an AMAZING whistler. No really. Have you seen that Chock Full O’ Nuts commercial with the whistling world champion guy? I’m not that good. But I am pretty good for a non-world-champion.

Um… is anybody still there? If so, you may want to see below.

So here’s my thing with these wonderful but frankly chain letter type of blog awards: The people I want to nominate don’t really need this award, cause they are pretty legit and frankly, a lot of them get “real” ones and several are actually paid to be here on the interwebs.

So I am not officially nominating any of the below for any damn thing. I just encourage you to check them out, because they are cool.

Chatting At The Sky

The Nesting Place

She Just Walks Around With It

The Bloggess

The Heir To Blair

Baby Rabies

Sesame Ellis

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2010 6:04 pm

    You are awesome and I can’t wait to see you at Blogher!

  2. emily bilbrey permalink
    February 12, 2010 2:27 pm

    i’m far too tired to come up with anything witty to contribute, so suffice to say you are adorable, i love your writing, and you totally deserved this award. cheers!

  3. February 16, 2010 1:23 am

    remember that one time the bloggess commented on your blog and i died? god. i love her so. and hate you a little bit.

  4. February 23, 2010 9:04 am

    Hi! I just found you through smonkyou and wanted to let you know that you have now gained a new Follower for two main reasons:
    1) Next Gen IS the ONLY good one.
    2) Working moms need support.

    See ya around!

Leave a Reply

