Skip to content

The things we grow

March 16, 2010

So a while back I mentioned that one of my goals for the year was to learn more about my food sources every day. I don’t know that I’m meeting that goal exactly, but as a family we are certainly following the spirit of the goal.

We’ve been spending many Saturday mornings at the local Farmer’s Market. We’ve got a “produce guy” who also happens to be an area strawberry farmer. We found the eggs and butter lady and she’s recently started carrying small amounts of locally raised, grass fed and finished beef. Some time soon we plan to get our act together enough to get there at 7:30 before she runs out of everything order from her a few days ahead of time so she can hold something for us. No really. Aaaaany second now, I am totally gonna get that handled.

We decided that it would also be fun to try to grow some actual food! Since we don’t have room or HOA approval for any livestock, we thought starting with a small vegetable garden would be the best idea. This is hilarious for several reasons:

1. I hate bugs.
2. I hate dirt, especially sandy dirt.
3. I hate heat.
4. We live in Florida, which is a giant sandbar on which we enjoy enormous bugs and oppressive, inescapable heat.

I am so notoriously anti-bugs, dirt and heat that my Mom and Step-Dad were literally laughing out loud at me as I played in my new garden. My step dad is one of those super-rare native Floridians and an avid home gardener. They graciously drove over for the day a few weeks ago to help us get our garden “in” and were a tremendous help.

In preparation for our new adventure the week before their visit we bought lots of organic seeds for green beans, cucumbers, yellow squash, zucchini and carrots. We also bought two large tomato plants and one cherry tomato plant from a garden center, and two broccoli plants from the Farmer’s Market. We are such amazing gardeners that in the week between when we bought our tomato plants and when we planted, our cherry tomato plant actually grew 2 tiny cherry tomatoes! We are SO AWESOME at this, you guys!!

It’s been about three weeks since we planted, and I am thrilled to share with you guys, the fruits veggies sprouts of our labor!

Tiny Carrots

Cherry Tomatoes

Green Beans

When Piper and I get home from daycare every evening we go outside and check on our garden. She’s mildly interested in the garden, and extremely interested in the “cages” that we have around the tomato plants for them to climb on as they grow.

Tiny Gardener

We’re really having fun with it, bugs and dirt included. I’ll have to let you know how I do with the heat. It’s been unusually cool around here and we’ve been enjoying the extra use we’re getting out of our long sleeved shirts.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2010 10:41 pm

    Things are looking good! I miss having a garden so much. I can’t wait til we move and I can have one yet again. Your mini gardener is a cutie!

  2. March 17, 2010 8:30 am

    <– inspired! My hubby has been talking about starting a garden for a couple years now… and I'm all "meh, whatevs" cuz I also hate dirt. Maybe I'll actually get behind it this spring?

    ::smooshes Piper's cheeks::

  3. March 17, 2010 8:50 am

    You are more than following the spirit of the goal! This is awesome. I wish we could do something like this, but every single plant we have ever had perishes in record time…. plus, your Tiny Gardener seems to know what she’s doing. Ours would just sit there and eat bugs and dirt.

    • March 17, 2010 9:06 am

      andrea I am notorious for killing plants. Last year for Mother’s Day my in law’s gave me a potted something or other and I literally laughed out loud. We got home, I put it on the back porch where it remained untouched, uwatered and unloved for 4 months before we pitched the carcass. It’s astonishing to me that any of this stuff is daring to grow at all!!

  4. thenextmartha permalink
    March 17, 2010 8:58 am

    First of all I LOVE to garden. Up here in the north we have to wait to plant outside until Mothers’s day. Can’t wait to watch yours grow. Every year I say, I’m not going to do it, and evey year I do. You just can’t beat home grown tomatoes. By the way, what is the white looking stuff that looks like snow?

    • March 17, 2010 9:08 am

      Jennifer, It’s sand! We have very sandy soil and we had to add a ton of “real” dirt. But on top we still end up with a lot of the sandy stuff. It’s a gray color really, but it does look white in the pictures.

  5. March 17, 2010 9:05 am

    this is really awesome!!! and i lurve your white picket fence! there is a group of ladies up here that actually go around and help families build and plant organic raised beds made out of cedar wood! we hope to do something similar for next year…we are so not ready for this year yard wise.
    that little piper…adorable!

    • March 17, 2010 9:10 am

      Thanks Kerri! We liked the picket fence too, so far it seems tall enough to keep Gilbert out, which was the main point of it. We checked out some of the raised bed “kits” at the garden center. SO expensive, and in our opinion so not worth it. It only took an hour or so for Topher to clear our little plot, and the border of our garden is just four landscape timbers that are screwed into each other with brackets. Easy Peasy!

  6. March 18, 2010 1:28 pm

    Mae! That’s awesome! I love gardening! I have so much fun with it, and I find it to be so gratifying when you actually get veggies! So fun! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

