Skip to content

If 40 is the new 30…

March 18, 2010

Then I? Am screwed.

Because that would make 31 the new 21 and I apparently cannot party like it’s 1999 2000. At all. I tried I swear! My wonderful husband threw me a fantastic birthday party at a wine bar this past Saturday night, and we all had so much fun! Many of my friends were able to make it, some driving from over 100 miles away to spend the evening with me, some walking from 3 blocks down the street. For all of them, I am so grateful.

I drank fantastic wine. I got wonderful gifts from wonderful people. A dear friend made me a gorgeous cake AND drove with it across the state for the event. At the after party at bar #2 I learned that Irish Nachos not only exist but come with sausage (!?!?), are amazing, and that my friend Casey can finally get pictures of them (as well as of other things, I suppose) on her damn cell phone.

We all had so much fun!

The evening in pictures.



It was fabulous. Granted, I spent much of the following day praying for my own death and/or a liver transplant but that was almost certainly due to the hangover combined with the daylight savings change combined with the 3.5 hours of sleep. Had it been just a hangover, I’m fairly certain I could have managed to not go to bed Sunday night in the exact same pajamas I wore to bed on Saturday. Maybe.

Today is my 31st birthday and I truly am loving my thirties. My life is fabulous and I am so blessed. Especially now that I know about those Irish Nachos.

Bottoms up!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2010 8:12 am

    I’m enjoying your blog, just found it today- I’m always in search of something new to read. I love your quote at the top of the page about princesses. lol. When these kiddos nap, I’m coming back to read further (yeah, i’m a blog stalker!;)

    carrie b.
    http://www.citymom-countrymom.com

  2. March 18, 2010 8:13 am

    oh- her picture at the top of the page is adorable, it just loaded and (i shouldn’t admit this but GASP I have dial up, so it wasn’t there at first.) but wow, what a precious little girl!

  3. Christopher permalink
    March 18, 2010 8:50 am

    I’m so glad you enjoyed your birthday party! Yeah birthday week 😉

  4. March 18, 2010 10:37 am

    Woot! That looks like a blast! Happy birthday to you, Mae 🙂

  5. March 18, 2010 10:45 am

    happy birthday to you…happy birthday to you…happy birthday dear mae…happy birthday to you!

  6. March 18, 2010 10:57 am

    Happy Birthday Mae!! Your party looks awesome & don’t worry- no one can party like they are 21 anymore- especially me!

  7. March 18, 2010 1:31 pm

    Happy Birthday!!!!! Congrats! Looks like it was a maaaaarvelous time!

  8. March 18, 2010 2:16 pm

    Happy Birthday!! Looks like you had a great time!!

  9. Liz permalink
    March 18, 2010 8:14 pm

    I’m still unsure of what I am doing in that picture, but let’s be honest I am the queen of strange faces in photos. This is just another one to add the gallery. On a different note, I am so happy you enjoyed your party and your cake and I hope that your acutal birthday has been just as wonderful as your birthday weekend… Uh, minus the hangover part. That part I’m sure you could do without.

    Also, side note: You don’t wear the same PJs two nights in a row? Uh, I mean, neither do I, I just was checking.

  10. Robyn permalink
    March 21, 2010 11:29 am

    Several semi-related responses:

    -I’ve have located and employed this thing called “Google Reader.”
    -I will never forgive myself for leaving before the irish nachos.
    -I’m pretty self-conscious about my PJ choices now, but at least it’s after noon and I’m not still wearing them. That’s something.
    -To further clarify, I am wearing SOMETHING. Just not PJs. I’ve been out of the house today–stop judging me!!!
    -I’m sad that I didn’t notice the beautiful flower design on Liz’s cake. So pretty.
    -I’m thrilled that you had a wonderful birthday, you’re loving your 30s, and we get to be a part of it. Thanks for marrying one of my oldest friends. 🙂

  11. emily bilbrey permalink
    March 21, 2010 5:06 pm

    another happy birthday to ye! glad you got to enjoy a truly fun night out. you are so cute and looked quite gorgeous in your patterned dress! also, please tell me the secret to your shiny shiny hair. or not, you know, if you want to be selfish.

    cheers and best wishes for a fantastic 31! xoxo.

  12. March 22, 2010 5:39 pm

    happy birthday slightly late!

  13. March 22, 2010 9:12 pm

    this is awkward… my invite must ahve been lost in the mail…..

    Regardless, Happy b day!!!

  14. March 25, 2010 10:27 am

    That cake looks AMAZING & it looks like you all had a lot of fun! Happy (belated) birthday!

  15. April 9, 2010 2:30 pm

    The photos are FANTASTIC!!!! LOL! Happy REALLLLLLY late Bday! XO

Leave a Reply

