Skip to content

BlogHer! via, um… Twitter?

March 26, 2010

I’ve blogged before about how much I love the “access” Twitter has given me to former members of the USS Enterprise NCC-1701 D bridge crew.

Twitter is awesome in other ways though, too. The kind of awesome that connects real people with each other in a way that makes me them squee with excitement.

Like this one time, my friend Mandy and I were lamenting our non-attendance at a blogging conference called Blissdom. See, when these events happen the people who attend them tweet about them using themed hashtags, partly to communicate with each other about stuff like what time the craft bloggers are meeting in the lobby to make their own shot glasses, and totally partly to make people who aren’t there insanely jealous.

So we got insanely jealous. Then we drank. And we tweeted. And Mandy, (you know you know her, do I really have to link every flipping time? Seriously just put her in your reader already) came up with our answer to all of the #Blissdom hashtags flying around. She called it #drunkdom because she’s brilliant as well as honest. So for 3 nights in a row, a bunch of us got on Twitter, drank alcohol and made fun of the people we wished we were. At some point, Jill, who I have frankly idolized from afar since her 23 month old son Kendall was in utero, started asking if we would have called it #drunkher if the conference going on at the time had been BlogHer instead. We started discussing actually going to BlogHer and how awesome that would be. There were many tweets discussing hypothetical roommates and swag bags involving BumpIts, all obviously in good fun, most of us weren’t really considering going to BlogHer. Seriously, at least a couple of us were just drunk tweeting about BumpIts.

Until Saturday morning on the way to the farmer’s market. I mentioned the funny conversation to Topher and suddenly I hear myself saying “I think I might actually like to go” and by some miracle hear him respond with “I think that would be a good idea”.

shut.thefront.door.

Within a week Mandy and I have officially decided that we’re going. But frankly, we’re at the point where if she backs out I won’t be completely shocked (not because she’s a flake, because she’s a mom and a stay at home one at that, and NYC is far away and other than cheap), hence my incessant pestering about buying her ticket for several weeks. I should have known better, she didn’t let me down.

Things happened fast, and my head is still spinning about almost all of them. Fast forward to last month and not only do I have my BlogHer ticket (early bird pricing booyah!!) but I also have my hotel room booked. Now. The best part?

Guess who’s gonna be in the room with me?

Ok, yeah, Mandy, obviously. But also? You guys?

My blog idol herself, Jill from BabyRabies is rooming with me. I KNOW!! Not only that, but our fourth is “Blair” from The Heir to Blair. If you don’t know who Blair is, I’m sad for you, and if you haven’t seen her kid Harrison, I’m sad for your ovaries. Seriously, they’ll twitch when you see his little face, just wait.

So, yeah. These people are kind of a big deal in my blogging universe. I’m going to write some more later about my reasons for going to the rest of the event and what I hope to learn there, but for today, I kinda just wanted to do the cabbage patch around my humble, non privatized domain, zero revenue generating, giveaway-less little blog because

HOLY-FREAKING-HELL-I’M-GOING-TO-BLOGHER-AND-I-AM-SO-EXCITED-Y’ALL!!!!!

After all, Have BumpIt: Will Travel.

Mae

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2010 9:08 am

    That sounds like so much fun! I’m so excited for you and can’t wait to read about all the wine-induced hilarity! Also ::jealous::

    And considering the fact that I’m a big geek… I also can’t wait to read about the events & meetings & bloggy crap too!

  2. March 26, 2010 11:23 am

    Woohoo! Thanks to hashtags I just found you, and I’m going to Blogher, too! I totally felt so jealous last year watching the conferences go by and had to get in on it this year. Gonna look around your blog some more. Love your style! Following you on Twitter! @ebaywickedlove

  3. March 26, 2010 12:43 pm

    Please whore me out to your readers. In need of roomie that doesn’t suck at life. Read: Anyone with over 20 buttons on their blog. Also read: Anyone that acts like their vagina is a clown car.

  4. March 26, 2010 2:00 pm

    I’m so jealous.

  5. March 26, 2010 5:26 pm

    I’m so jealous. No really, like I really wish I was you (sans bump-it because I have thin hair and it just wouldn’t look right). This is the stuff dreams are made of. I think I’m going to go and bite my pillow, that I can’t be at BlogHer with you and your incredibly cool roomies.

  6. March 26, 2010 8:16 pm

    It’s totally weird to me, all this admiration and stuff. I’m just happy you didn’t think I was psycho at all the talk about fingering myself to check my cervix and my Tums overdose. Of course, I DID save your life…so there’s that. But really, I guaran-damn-tee you I’m just as excited to room with such amazing, inspiring women. We are going to have SO MUCH FUN SQUEEEEE!!

  7. March 27, 2010 2:38 am

    i’m totally planning swag bags. but i feel we should all converse about the bumpits so we don’t all get them for eachother. i suppose we could find other uses for them (drink stirers?) but really. i’m fearful for head explosion from the awesome but it’s a chance i’m willing to take. pants will be peed. @thenextmartha is bringing me depends soooo i’m covered.

    p.s.? we are nuts.

Leave a Reply

