Skip to content

Easter

April 7, 2010

Remember when I said that we wanted to spend less time in the pediatric urgent care this year?

This kid has a thing for holidays.

Halloween? Sick.
Christmas? Sick.
Easter? Yep. Sick.

This time she gave us a couple of days head start though, so we didn’t have to visit the urgent care on the actual holiday and instead got to go a few days before!

I don’t want to get too emotional and mushy, there are a lot of people out there with worse problems, parents with children battling very difficult illnesses. But. I would just like to say that seeing the number 104.7 on the digital thermometer is a pretty heart-stopping thing, and I for one would like to stop seeing that number and its neighbors with such Holiday-ish regularity. Bronchitis can suck my ass.

As a result of Piper’s respiratory issues we canceled all of our plans for the weekend and planned to spend Easter hanging around the house, doing nothing. I bought a ham in case we didn’t go to the In Law’s like we had planned, because Topher would marry ham if such a thing were legal. No seriously, he loves ham so much he calls it “King of Meats”.

(I get some serious mileage out of making a ham, y’all. Dirty dishes, undone laundry, forgotten bills, whatever! I made a freakin ham and he’s Happy McSlappy. God I love him.)

So Easter morning we got up and wandered around “looking” for Piper’s Easter basket. I have to say, I don’t think she knew she was looking for anything. She’s 1 and likes to wander around looking for food on the floor. I don’t blame her because she’s BFF with this guy and wandering around looking for food on the floor is his superpower:

Her basket was adorable (My Mom gave it to her) and I filled it with books and a headband and toys and yes, little eggs that had chocolate bunny crackers inside. We got her a stuffed sheep that was too big for the basket so we put them next to each other. But my kid ain’t dumb, and she made off with the good stuff so fast I didn’t even get a photo of her finding it:

Take the basket, leave the sheep.

She actually seemed a bit suspicious of the sheep, but by the time she got halfway through the second chocolate bunny cracker filled egg she was willing to consider a relationship:

Since she was feeling a lot better by then, and hadn’t had a fever for 48 hours we were pretty comfy making the 15 minute trip to Topher’s parents’ house for dinner.

There were more eggs filled with wonderful things. Also, Piper’s favorite sheep, Carl, was still hanging around from the St Patrick’s Day Party so they got to play. I think she was trying to herd him someplace with her awesome truck (which used to be Topher’s):

I hope all of you had a wonderful holiday and let’s all stay the hell out of the pediatric urgent care for a while.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2010 2:31 pm

    Love the one of her wandering off with the basket!

  2. emily bilbrey permalink
    April 7, 2010 2:43 pm

    1) piper is BEYOND adorable. holy crap.

    2) the photo of her on the vintage truck toy made me drop an egg. and i don’t mean the deviled kind.

    3) SO sorry to hear that your precious nugget has been sick during every recent holiday! baby sickies completely suck ass. but it looks like you did end up having a cute & fun easter celebration, so i’m happy for ye. sending anti-sickie mind bullets your way, dear!

    cheers!

  3. April 7, 2010 8:55 pm

    Aw, I am so sorry! Glad Piper is better…so freakin scary! The Easter pics are adorable!!!!

  4. April 8, 2010 2:53 am

    would it be weird if i printed the one of her looking at the sheep out and hung it on my fridge?

    because shit.

    not to mention we were gonna get that fat stupid cute idiot face sheep for H but they were out when i went back to get one. SIGH.

    and shuddup with that easter dress.

  5. silenceandnoise permalink
    April 14, 2010 10:40 am

    I am so sorry you had a fever scare again! I can imagine how scary that must be. I’m glad she’s feeling better now 🙂 I love all your photos, and that vintage truck? It’s my fave! xoox

Leave a Reply

