Skip to content

Today, she gave me flowers

April 11, 2010

She loves to be outside, more than just about anything. She says hello to her favorite tree every day, like they’re friends. She loves to play with her beach toys; her bucket and shovels and sifters, sitting in the patch of sand near the screened porch.

Spring has sprung, and the grass is long. We’ve never been big yard people and we have a lot of weeds. We don’t really care because they look enough like grass when they’re mowed that the HOA doesn’t yell at us. But right now, they’re long and tall, especially in the back and she had a lot of fun walking through the “grass” that’s almost as tall as her.

These weeds have blooms. They’re purple and delicate, actually rather pretty. Saturday she was content to look at them and try to pluck the petals off one at a time. By Sunday she was brave, and she decided to put some effort in.

They came up much easier than she was expecting, one in each hand. I could see the surprise in her face. She looked at me in awe of her own strength, clutching her prizes. She brought them to me, holding them out in front of her body, a huge smile on her face.

Usually when she brings me things, it’s all just part of the game. She brings me things, I take them, she smiles, she takes them back, she smiles again: repeat as needed. Today she brought me purple flowers, she smiled at me, she rested her head on my knee, then she toddled off to another adventure.

Today, she gave me flowers. And I cried.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2010 7:02 pm

    so wonderful…what a little person she is becoming!!! flowers totally deserve a good cry!

  2. Proud Poppo permalink
    April 11, 2010 7:05 pm

    So did I. And remembered the day you gave me a pebble, which became my ‘lucky rock’. I carried it in my pocket for about 10 years…

    Hugs to you both from the Happy Grandpappy!

    • April 11, 2010 7:07 pm

      Dude you had that thing way longer than 10 years. I remember you were still carrying it when I graduated High School I think. I still remember that rock!

  3. April 11, 2010 7:07 pm

    Oh my. U got me tearin up too. Special. Very special.

  4. Jill @babyrabies permalink
    April 11, 2010 7:31 pm

    Awwww, Mae. What a beautiful story and what a little sweetheart. That made me tear up so I’m sure you were a mess.

  5. April 11, 2010 8:20 pm

    Aww. How sweet. These are the moments that make it all worth it, huh?

  6. April 11, 2010 8:38 pm

    These stories are exactly what keeps me going. Piper is such a doll!

  7. April 11, 2010 10:42 pm

    damn you. DAMN YOU.
    that is so sweet.

  8. April 12, 2010 7:22 am

    I’m actually commenting…that’s because this post is fantastic. Awesome story…so cool of P. It’s also really well written which is why I will steal it in a few years but change she to he and flower to worm.

  9. thenextmartha permalink
    April 12, 2010 12:54 pm

    Just beautiful and wonderful

  10. April 12, 2010 12:56 pm

    What a fabulous post .. Just love it!

  11. April 12, 2010 12:56 pm

    I love this.

  12. April 13, 2010 8:44 am

    So sweet! I teared up just reading about it!

  13. silenceandnoise permalink
    April 14, 2010 10:43 am

    This is my fave post so far!!! I can totally picture the whole thing… so adorable. Piper is so sweet!!

Leave a Reply

