Skip to content

Success: Redefined

April 12, 2010

It’s been a weird and frankly distressing week for me on the internet.

It’s pathetic, and I know it, but the fact of the matter is that I was disappointed this week by someone I have never met, and who I may never meet. I looked up to her. She’s doing what I want to do, and the limited interaction we’d had was positive, until a few days ago. I let it get to me, and the situation colored several of my days pretty blue.

But I’ve had some time to reflect on some things that others have been saying to me, and I realized that I was giving it way too much space in my life. If people want to behave poorly, they’ll eventually reap the consequences of that, and I don’t need to do much to help that along. They’ll either learn, or they won’t, and either way it’s not my problem.

So, I started looking around at my own life again. And you guys? It’s pretty awesomesauce.

Husband? Awesome.
Daughter? Awesome.
Job? The same.
House? DISGUSTINGLY Filthy!
Maids? They’ll be here by 9 this morning.

(Don’t hate on my maid service, and please, don’t call me lucky. It’s not luck, it’s a service, for which I pay good money because it’s something that helps make our lives work while we work elsewhere.)

Also! Remember some of those goals I talked about earlier in the year? We’re making real progress on them (minus that whole baby urgent care thing).

I FINALLY found a wine under $10 with an animal on the label AND that has a real cork, and my mission to drink enough of it to make a cork board? Thoroughly underway.

Our garden, which we were starting to get concerned about in all honesty, because of that whole not-knowing-what-the-hell-we’re-doing thing, earned high praise this weekend from our visiting garden gurus. There are tomatoes everywhere we look, even more today than yesterday!

And y’all? We’re already marking this gardening adventure firmly in the “Success” column.

We planted stuff. It grew. We ate it. It was deeeee-lish.

Wanna see?

I know you do.

I ate some more broccoli tonight. It was fantastic. I LOVE gardening!

The weekend did what weekends are supposed to do; helped me refocus.

And I have a new goal: Staying focused on myself and my family and what’s working for US. Because that’s truly what’s important to me.

Y’all help keep me honest,though… ‘kay? Thanks.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2010 8:15 am

    “Refocus” … I forgot that’s what the weekends are for!

    This post couldn’t come on a better day. We visited some friends yesterday who live in a beautiful HUGE house, with tons of land …. the wife stays at home to watch her two kids, and they have a cleaning service, a lawn service and pay for daycare two days a week! I went home to my dark, small townhouse, with a million bills in our inbox, and played the “woe is me” card to my husband all. night. long.

    But you’ve reminded me to focus on all the awesome things in my life, which is basically EVERYTHING when I’m not being super dramatic and whiney. And you know what? We have an awesome garden (like you!) and they don’t …. so neener neener neener on THEM!

  2. thenextmartha permalink
    April 12, 2010 8:22 am

    So jealous that you have actual vegetables already. We aren’t able to plant until Mother’s day which means I should be getting my first tomato around the end of JULY!!! It’s nice to see you have so many positive things in your life including a new piece of equipment that was not mentioned above. Can I have a salad now?

  3. April 12, 2010 8:27 am

    Hey! My husband and I want to start a garden, you give us hope. Any tips you have would be fantastic. Also please share this under $10 bottle of wine with said animal on the label. I. Must. Have. It!

    I like your outlook on your goals and we as society spend 80% of our time on 20% of the population and it should be the other way around, way to move past the bully.

  4. April 12, 2010 2:47 pm

    Good for you, Mae, on getting past your frustration & being grateful for the awesomeness that is your life! Although, I can totally relate to the feeling of frustration at being treated crappy by a buisness/person you’ve supported.
    When I had my shop, my business partner (if you can call her that…) regularly treated our customers like garbage. It was always so embarrassing for me, but I was stuck dealing with her. Terrible quality to have when you’re asking for support from the public! Pfft.
    Oh and DO NOT feel guilty re: having a maid service! Like you said, it isn’t luck – it’s your family saving your pennies and paying for something that improves the quality of your everyday life. David & I went to Maui twice in one year – we weren’t lucky, we just pooled together like six grand of our hard earned cash and did with it exactly what we wanted! πŸ˜€
    this is me patting you on the back. And saying again how freaking charming, cute and generally rad piper is.
    Cheers!

  5. April 12, 2010 3:50 pm

    Have I told you how much I truly adore your blog? Because I do, a lot.

  6. April 12, 2010 7:49 pm

    Your veggies are beautiful, i garden too. No harvest yet those year but icant wait!

  7. silenceandnoise permalink
    April 14, 2010 10:58 am

    Im sorry to hear you had a bad internet experience! Seriously, what’s up with the internetz these days?? Great bloggers getting rude comments, and people calling BABIES ugly? It really is shocking!
    I love your garden and I’m so proud of you!! You have actually inspired me to give this whole gardening thing a try. I’m going to be away for the summer, but it will happen next year πŸ™‚

  8. April 15, 2010 10:00 pm

    ugggh….i hate bad internet experiences…i too have had them…and they blow. granted we have never met…hopefully someday we will…ummm like when you move next door to me here in lovely new england ::side eyed::
    ehhh hemm…anyway…but you are seriously are super smart…creative and driven…and i admire you SO VERY MUCH! (but not in a stalker weird way)
    you are doing wonderful things for you and your super awesome family…and that is all that matters!

    PS: as soon as i actually make some money…the first thing i will be getting is a maid service! i feel it it totally money well spent…you can spend more time with your family…and not have to worry about when the last time you cleaned the toilet…PRICELESS!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

