Skip to content

Gifts from Friends

May 13, 2010

Ok apparently it’s gratuitous photo post week here. Sorry about that.

OR AM I?

I have these awesome friends, who send awesome gifts out of nowhere for no reason other than to make me laugh. And they weren’t even here to hear me do it.

What’s that? You’re having trouble making out what it says?

Oh and I know she looks mad, but that’s not the bib so much as it is the delay in the delivery of snack. See? Much happier baby.

Thanks to Brooke and Tanya for the awesome bib. I love that you love me enough to make my kid a bib  just to pass my fictional character crush on to the next generation.

By the way if anyone ever sends me a piece of baby apparel with the words Edward, Cullen, Jacob or Twilight on them we will have a problem. Those novelty items are only for adults and I wear a medium, please make a note.

In other news, I had some dear friends trapped in the UK for like, 8 months or something ridiculous because Iceland banned strip clubs thereby bringing international air travel to a standstill. Also there was some kind of volcano thingamabob.

While they were stuck over there they got me two awesome gifts* which showcase how very well they know me:

This? Is gin. And I heart gin. And juice. Like the Snoop Dog.

This is a tea towel from the Sherlock Holmes museum in London. Why would they do such a thing?  Because I love Sherlock Holmes (Jeremy Brett version please, followed by Basil Rathbone. I give you these details for your future shopping convenience, because I care about you all and want you to be happy) a sometimes inappropriate amount. And the Sherlock Holmes Museum is my favorite museum ever, a fact which Robyn and Justin know. Favoritest anywhere. Of any kind.

Yes I am in fact, very serious.

What’s that? Oh yes. I do, in fact, have proof of my seriousness. Just look at this beaming tourist who can hardly contain her sometimes inappropriate excitement. Circa 2005.

Photo by Tessa Magee

It’s good to have friends, especially friends who feed my obsessions with Star Trek, booze and Sherlock Holmes souvenirs. I am a lucky girl.

*yes of course they got Piper a gift too, they’re GodParents for pete’s sake and they’re not new at this! It’s a Paddington Bear and he’s adorable. I refuse to give him to her for a while though because she’s gonna rip his little coat buttons riiiiiight off. You can actually see him on the bookcase behind Piper in that very first picture with the I heart Wesley Crusher bib. He’s up nice and high, safe from toddlers, golden retrievers and caterpillars.

What? He’s imported, y’all. I haven’t even cracked that Gin open yet.

What’s your favorite museum? Does YOURS have a persian slipper on the mantelpiece filled with fake victorian-era shag tobacco? I bet it doesn’t.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2010 7:41 am

    OMG I love Paddington Bear! So cute. And the gifts are awesome. My friends only travel to places like… Albany. Blah.

  2. May 13, 2010 9:34 am

    That kid. I die.

  3. May 13, 2010 2:38 pm

    She’s so cute. And, I also am a huge fan of the Sher-dogg.

  4. Brooke permalink
    May 13, 2010 5:15 pm

    Cute! Glad it fits her!

  5. May 13, 2010 8:56 pm

    Oh. Bib. WANT. For me of course, because I have a son. I’ll let him make that sort of conclusion on his own.

    But that doll of yours? She wears it with style.

Leave a Reply

